About North Tripura District

The North Tripura District has a geographical area of  1,422.19 Sq. Km and is divided into three sub-divisions, namely, Dharmanagar, Kanchanpur and Panisagar. For the purpose of developmental activities it is divided into eight Blocks namely Panisagar, Kadamtala, Damcherra, Dasda, Jubarajnagar, Laljuri, Kalacherra and Jampui Hill. There is one Municipal corporation at Dharmanagar & one Nagar Panchayat at Panisagar . Main tribes of the District are Tripuri, Koloi,Halam, Chakma. Two Hill ranges, namely Jampui, Sakan run almost parallal to each other in the District. "Betling Chip", the highest point of the state(939m.ht.), is located in the District in the Jampui range. Deo, Manu, Longai and Juri are the main rivers.